it’s hectic, it’s stressed, it’s challenging

Busy day today. After dropping my youngest off at school, I caught a train up to London, where I have a meeting with the Leader of KCC and some of my officer team to discuss our forthcoming Housing Strategy for Kent, as one of the workstreams of the Regeneration Framework.

Then it’s a dash over to Westminster where I’m attending the Thames Gateway Strategic Partnership with colleagues from Kent, Essex and London, and government agencies. These meetings are really useful to get the ‘inside track’ from civil servants and ministers, and to represent Kent’s interests effectively.

Then it’s a dash back to Tunbridge Wells to meet the team and get a good couple of hours of canvassing in, before I attend a local Conservative branch meeting at 8pm.

It’s always hectic, it’s often stressed, and usually challenging. But who gets the chance to do such a varied and interesting job, and make such a difference to our county and the local community?

Leave a comment