The Value of Honesty

"Two portions of chips, please" said my eldest daughter at the County Show today. The lady served up the chips, and I asked her "Has she paid you yet?" having given my daughter a five pound note for two portions at £2.50 each.

"I thought you’d paid already" she replied, taking my fiver. "But for being so honest, I’m only going to charge you for one portion of chips". Walking off, I told my two daughters "You see, honesty really does pay. We just got a free portion of chips for owning up that we hadn’t paid."

"But Dad" said my eldest "if you’d been dishonest and not paid, we’d have been a fiver better off now."

It’s actually quite difficult to argue with that.

Leave a Reply

