Channel Chamber – my breakfast with business

Yesterday I drove down to the Burlington Hotel in Folkestone to speak at a Business Leaders’ Breakfast for the Channel Chamber of Commerce.  I arrived around 7.15am and was given a warm welcome by Ray Johnson, their Chairman.

After an excellent cooked breakfast I spoke about Kent County Council’s new relationship with business; about the challenges facing the county in the years ahead; about the opportunities for us to work together and about our Backing Kent Business campaign, which the Channel Chamber’s Peter Hobbs has been a key part of since its inception.

I always find my business breakfast meeting fascinating, because you never quite know who might ask what question.  Yesterday’s audience was no exception, and I faced questions on a variety of topics, from Folkestone’s major seafront regeneration project, to the construction supply chain in Kent.

I had to leave at 9am to get back Maidstone for a Cabinet members’ meeting, but I’m looking forward to my next business breakfast on Friday in Canterbury!

Leave a Reply

