So the old ones really are the best then?

With my eldest daughter’s fourteenth birthday a few days ago, she had the obligatory sleepover with eight of her schoolfriends on Friday night.

It’s apparently customary for the hostess at these events to provide the scariest movie they can find, and since I didn’t want them watching the “Saw” series with its gratuitous violence, torture, blood and gore, I found a DVD version of Stanley Kubrick’s “The Shining” with Jack Nicholson.

And now I’m a hero! My daughter tells me it was the scariest film they’ve ever watched, and the first time her friends have collectively and involuntarily screamed out loud at a film.

So the old ones really are the best then?

Leave a Reply

