Bursting with pride

Last night was a revelation. I went to the “Year 9 Showcase” at my daughter’s school, where for two and a half hours, around a hundred and fifty pupils entertained some three hundred parents by singing, dancing and drama.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but the standard was exceptional. Then after the interval, my eldest came on, and accompanied by one of her classmates on piano, sang Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believing”.

As a parent, you tie yourself in knots. Will she be overcome with nerves? Will she forget the words?

She was brilliant, singing in a voice I’d never heard before, and with a confidence that left me bursting with pride.

A great evening.

Leave a Reply

