The Bruce-Lockhart Terrace

Bruce Lockhart Terrace

I went to the County Councils Network executive meeting yesterday in London. I arrived at Local Government House in Smith Square, home of the LGA very early, and went up to the Members’ Lounge on the sixth floor. I often use this hot desking room because it has a roof terrace which looks out over Westminster.

However, yesterday was quite special, as I noticed a new stainless steel placque just beside the door to the roof garden. It seems they’ve recently named it “The Bruce-Lockhart Terrace”.

So, standing out on the roof terrace enjoying a crisp, sunny November morning alone on the deck, I began thinking about Sandy and his legacy to local government. For those of us who were lucky enough to work with him, and better still to serve on his Cabinet, we have our own personal legacy. Whenever I’m faced with a difficult decision, whether it’s political or operational, all I need do is close my eyes and think “what would Sandy have done?”.

It’s rare to meetg, let along work with, such a special person. If it were up to me, I’d have named the whole building after him.

Leave a Reply

