Sherwood – such a great sense of community

tn2 carnival

During the recent election, the Liberal Democrat candidate David Neve branded me a “missing politician” because I lived in Lamberhurst.  Several Sherwood residents suggested that the only place I was missing was from home, as I spent so much time in their area!

Sherwood has always had a special place in my heart, and by working together with local people over the years, we’ve achieved a huge amount. New Children’s Centre, new buses, Greggs Wood Road repaired, and the jewel in the crown – the TN2 Community Centre.

So on Saturday last, I visited the TN2 Carnival.  I only intended to be there for a short while, but ended up staying all afternoon! It was packed, as local people enjoyed a huge number of stalls, from ‘eating three crackers in one minute’ to a mini fairground, barbecue, mobile discoand stands from Kent Police and Kent Fire and Rescue.

It took me ages to get across the square to the centre itself, as so many people wanted to shake my hand and slap my back for the election victory last Friday.  It’s wonderful to know there’s such a great sense of community, and I feel honoured to be able to represent the area at County Hall.

Leave a Reply

