A Crossing for Sandhurst Road

Attended the Tunbridge Wells Joint Transportation Board this evening, where once again, I pressed for action on the pedestrian crossing at Sandhurst Road.

Several weeks ago I got very cross when I was told that the consultation – which was scheduled for March – wouldn’t take place until July! I persuaded officers to reprioritise this job, and tonight, pressed again for a timescale.

Kent Highways Services told me that everything was now in place, and work would begin either during half term week, or on 1st June.

Still my beating heart! Then they told me that since Sherwood Park Primary School would be closed during half term week, other jobs might take precedence; I reminded them that Sherwood’s primary school runs lots of holiday activities and children would still be crossing this busy and dangerous road.

I will keep pressing for the earliest start to this crossing, which I’m told will take just one week to construct and open.

Can’t wait to join Lynne Martindale, her guide dog Ellie and other residents and be the first ones to cross this road safely!

Leave a Reply

