Why couldn’t they just do some reading?

Driving my eldest to school the other day, she asked me a question.  “Dad, what does G-H-O-T-I spell?”.  “Ghoti” I replied, rhyming her spelling with ‘goatee’.  “Wrong” she retorted “It spells ‘fish’!”

Seeing my total confusion, she explained.  “The letters G and H in the word ‘tough’ makes the sound ‘F’.  The letter O in the word ‘women’ makes the sound ‘I’, and the sound of the letters T and I in ‘friction’ makes the sound ‘SH’.  So – G-H-O-T-I spells ‘fish’.”

Apparently, she and her friends came up with this whilst their English teacher nipped out of the classroom last week.

Why couldn’t they just do some reading?

Leave a Reply

